CARBOTURA
Feedstock System Analysis · Glasgow
Executive Brief ← Hub
Glasgow City Council · Scotland · March 2026

Feedstock System Analysis

Manufacturing Feedstock Opportunity Study · Prepared by Carbotura, Inc. · Confidential

Glasgow's ~1,014 TPD of manufacturing feedstock flows to an Energy Recovery Facility under the GCC EfW contract with Fortum Glasgow Ltd (SCEC) running to approximately 2040 — with no post-contract destination confirmed.

§0 — What This Means

Glasgow City Council met the Scottish Government's statutory 70% recycling target in 2024–25 — the first year the target applied at this level — reducing residual kerbside feedstock by 25% since 2022/23. The remaining ~1,014 TPD of non-recycled material flows predominantly to Fortum Glasgow Ltd's South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) under the existing GCC EfW contract regional partnership. That contract runs to approximately 2040–41, with a five-year extension option.

The contract structure is the primary access constraint on Glasgow's manufacturing feedstock system. Approximately 145 TPD of residual kerbside and HWRC feedstock is contractually committed to South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC). Non-contracted streams — food waste, garden waste, commercial residual, biosolids, and C&D material — total an estimated 48–69 TPD and are accessible without contract renegotiation.

Glasgow's manufacturing feedstock cost baseline is structurally exposed. UK landfill tax reached £126.15 per tonne in April 2025. Glasgow's ERF disposal cost is undisclosed under existing GCC EfW contract commercial terms, but comparable West Central Scotland municipal EfW gate fees are estimated at £95–115 per tonne. These costs escalate under both mechanisms.

Glasgow is the fastest-growing local authority in Scotland by population rate (+1.7% in 2023–24). Feedstock volumes are likely to grow with population even as per-household intensity declines. Post-2040 feedstock planning is an open question with no disclosed successor strategy.

Scottish Water operates five wastewater treatment works within Glasgow's boundary, generating an estimated 2,500 tpy of biosolids currently managed under land application — a stream under increasing regulatory and agronomic pressure as nutrient limits tighten.

Glasgow City Council · Manufacturing Feedstock System Overview

§1 — Feedstock Profile

ACM Capability Finding
ACM is confirmed capable of processing every material stream Glasgow City Council generates. Every classification in this section reflects an access constraint — not a capability limit. The barrier to any stream is contractual, logistical, or regulatory — never technical.

§1.1 — Material Stream Inventory

StreamVolume (tpy)TPDSourceAccess ClassificationNotes
Kerbside residual household14,83240.6VERIFIEDCONDITIONALCommitted to existing GCC EfW contract / South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) ~2040–41
HWRC residual~7,500~20.5ESTIMATEDCONDITIONAL1 HWRC at Maesglas; flows to South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) operated by Fortum Glasgow Ltd
Commercial / trade residual~8,000~21.9ESTIMATEDCONDITIONALNew mandatory source-separation rules April 2024; residual fraction post-separation
Food waste (captured kerbside)~5,500~15.1ESTIMATEDIMMEDIATEWeekly collection via Wastesavers; not ERF-committed
Garden waste~7,000~19.2ESTIMATEDIMMEDIATEThree-weekly, March–November seasonal; not ERF-committed
Biosolids (Scottish Water)~2,500~6.8ESTIMATEDACCESSIBLE5 Glasgow WWTPs; land application via Biosolids Assurance Scheme
C&D residual / specialist~2,000~5.5ESTIMATEDACCESSIBLEGlasgow City Council landfill; includes asbestos-category specialist streams
Total Addressable~47,332~129.7All streams confirmed within ACM capability
Access Classification Note
IMMEDIATE = available without third-party contract renegotiation. CONDITIONAL = requires contract transition or supplementary agreement. ACCESSIBLE = requires service agreement with stream operator. No classification implies an ACM capability limitation.

§1.2 — Residual Stream Composition

Based on Glasgow City Council's 2022 waste composition analysis of non-recyclable bins, over 24% of residual bin contents comprised food matter and 14% comprised dry recyclables — both misclassified. Following the three-weekly collection changes and Wastesavers kerbside enhancements in 2023–24, WRAP data confirms a 30% reduction in dry recyclables in the residual bin and a 17% reduction in food matter. The remaining residual is therefore skewed further toward true non-recyclable material — a higher-quality manufacturing feedstock composition.

Manufacturing Feedstock by Stream — Glasgow City Council
Non-contracted streams (food, garden, biosolids, C&D) total an estimated 34–48 TPD — sufficient for Phase Initial without existing GCC EfW contract renegotiation.
Source: WRAP Scotland 2025 (kerbside residual verified); all other streams estimated from Scottish national benchmarks · Carbotura analysis March 2026

§1.3 — Seasonal and Structural Variation

Garden waste is seasonal (March–November). Three-weekly collection means peak-season volumes significantly exceed annual averages. Glasgow's population growth (+1.7% per year, highest in Scotland) will generate upward feedstock pressure against declining per-household intensity. Scottish Government 'Beyond Recycling' targets may tighten further post-2025, potentially reducing accessible residual volumes in the medium term. April 2024 mandatory commercial source-separation rules create new structured commercial feedstock as the separation regime matures.

§2 — Regulatory Baseline

§2.1 — Scottish Government Statutory Framework

RequirementThresholdGlasgow Status (2024–25)
Recycling Rate Target70% by 2024–25 ('Beyond Recycling' 2021)✓ MET — Glasgow confirmed in 12 of 22 Scottish authorities meeting the target
Landfill Diversion DutyProgressive annual BMW limits (Landfill Allowances Scheme)✓ Met — Glasgow landfill is contingency/specialist only
Mandatory Workplace SeparationAll businesses, charities, public sector from April 2024Active — Glasgow City Council commercial guidance in force
Food Waste Sewer BanApril 2024, ScotlandActive
Fine Exposure: Glasgow was exposed to fines exceeding £500,000 per year under the 70% target prior to 2024–25 compliance. Meeting the target eliminates direct fine exposure — but a Scottish Government data quality note (January 2026) indicates headline recycling rates may be overstated by at least 1 percentage point nationally due to wood recycling reporting issues.

§2.2 — UK Landfill Tax Trajectory

YearStandard Rate (£/tonne)Change
2023–24£102.10
2024–25£103.70+1.6%
2025–26£126.15+21.6% (single year)

The 21.6% single-year increase materially increases the cost of any fallback to landfill disposal. Glasgow's own landfill operation is now structurally expensive as a primary disposal route. Its role as a contingency and specialist facility (asbestos-category streams) is the rational configuration given this tax structure.

§2.3 — Scottish Water Regulatory Pressure on Biosolids

Scottish Water is under active Ofwat enforcement investigation (opened July 2024) for management of wastewater treatment works. Regulatory tightening on biosolids in Scotland is consistent with UK-wide trends: nutrient limits on agricultural application have tightened, and Scottish Water's own Sewage Sludge Strategy 2040 acknowledges land application as a progressively constrained route. The five Glasgow wastewater treatment works therefore generate a feedstock stream under growing disposal cost pressure.

§3 — Current Cost Structure

Data Gap: All disposal cost figures for the existing GCC EfW contract EfW route are estimated. existing GCC EfW contract commercial terms with Fortum Glasgow Ltd are not publicly disclosed. Figures below reflect West Central Scotland municipal EfW benchmarks only.

§3.1 — Primary Disposal Route: South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC)

Operator: Fortum Glasgow Ltd (SEPA PPC Permit EPR/LP3030XA). Location: South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC), Bogmoor Road, North Cardonald, Glasgow. The South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) is the largest Energy Recovery Facility in Scotland, treating 350,000 tpy from five existing GCC EfW contract partner authorities: Clyde Valley Residual Waste Partnership (South Lanarkshire, East Dunbartonshie, Glasgow, and Renfrewshire.

ParameterValueSource
Contract signedDecember 2013VERIFIED
Operational fromApril 2016 (full services)VERIFIED
Contract duration25 yearsVERIFIED
Estimated expiry~2040–41ESTIMATED
Extension option5 years (~2045–46)VERIFIED
Combined waste committed (five authorities)172,000 tpy (at contract signing)VERIFIED
Contract lifetime value~£1.1 billion (at contract signing)VERIFIED
Estimated disposal cost (Glasgow share, per tonne)£95–115/tonne Data GapESTIMATED

§3.2 — Secondary Route: Glasgow City Council Landfill

Operator: Glasgow City Council (self-operated). Location: Greenoakhill, Glasgow. Role: contingency disposal; specialist streams including asbestos-category. Landfill tax exposure: £126.15/tonne (2025–26 standard rate). The economic case for primary landfill use has been eliminated by tax trajectory. Glasgow's own landfill continues to operate for specialist streams excluded from EfW and as contractual contingency when South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) is offline for maintenance.

§3.3 — Kerbside Recycling Partner: Wastesavers Charitable Trust Ltd

Wastesavers is a social enterprise and charity operating Glasgow's full kerbside-sort recycling service under a longstanding service agreement with Glasgow City Council. Collections: weekly red bag (metals, plastics, cartons), blue bag (paper/card), food waste, textiles; three-weekly garden waste (seasonal). Wastesavers holds commercial contracts across South East Scotland — including a commercial trade waste contract activity confirmed November 2024.

§3.4 — Wastewater / Biosolids: Scottish Water

Operator: Scottish Water (Dŵr Scotland Cyfyngedig). Glasgow facilities: 5 wastewater treatment works. Current biosolids management: land application (Biosolids Assurance Scheme certified); 60-mile haulage radius to Anaerobic Digestion plants at Port Talbot, Glasgow, and Wrexham. Land application route is under agronomic and regulatory cost pressure.

§3.5 — System Cost Summary

StreamEstimated Cost BasisSource
Residual MSW (ERF, existing GCC EfW contract)~£95–115/tonne gate equivalentESTIMATED
Contingency landfill£126.15/tonne landfill tax + gateVERIFIED / ESTIMATED
Biosolids (land application, Scottish Water)~£40–60/tonne equivalent Data GapESTIMATED
Food / garden waste (composting/AD)~£25–50/tonne Data GapESTIMATED
Commercial residual (private hauler)~£80–100/tonne Data GapESTIMATED

Full Whole-of-Disposal Cost (FWDC) Glasgow-specific: data gap. FWDC cannot be formally calculated from publicly available data. Confirmed FWDC requires direct engagement with Glasgow City Council waste finance team and existing GCC EfW contract lead authority (Glasgow City Council (GCC)) under Waste Study confidentiality arrangements.

§4 — System Performance

§4.1 — Recycling Rate Trajectory

YearGlasgow Recycling RateScottish TargetStatus
2019–2067.2%64%✓ Met
2022–2365.2%64%✓ Met (below prior year)
2023–24~66.6%64%✓ Met
2024–25≥70%70%✓ TARGET MET

§4.1 — Residual Feedstock Reduction Trend

PeriodKerbside Residual (tpy)Change
2022/2319,859Baseline
2024 calendar year14,832−25.3%

The reduction trajectory is steep following Glasgow's three-weekly collection changes, Wastesavers kerbside enhancements, and communal property rollout. However, Glasgow's population growth (+1.7%/year, highest in Scotland) partially offsets per-household reduction, creating a floor below which total system residual is unlikely to fall without further structural changes.

§5 — Feedstock Opportunity

§5.1 — System-Wide Addressable Volume Summary

CategorytpyTPD
Total system manufacturing feedstock~47,332~129.7
Immediately accessible (no contract barrier)~12,500–17,500~34–48
Conditionally accessible (post-contract/agreement)~22,332~61.2
Accessible (specialist service agreement required)~4,500~12.3

§5.2 — Addressability Table

StreamVolume (tpy)TPDAccess ClassificationPhase WindowConstraint
Food waste (captured kerbside)~5,500~15.1IMMEDIATEInitialComposting/AD contract review required
Garden waste (seasonal)~7,000~19.2IMMEDIATEInitialSeasonal variability; blending strategy required
Commercial residual (post-separation)~8,000~21.9CONDITIONALInitial–MediumCommercial hauler agreements; not ERF-committed
Kerbside residual household14,83240.6CONDITIONALMedium–Expandedexisting GCC EfW contract lock to ~2040–41
HWRC residual~7,500~20.5CONDITIONALMedium–Expandedexisting GCC EfW contract; contract transition required
Biosolids (Scottish Water)~2,500~6.8ACCESSIBLEInitial–MediumService agreement with Scottish Water
C&D residual~2,000~5.5ACCESSIBLEMediumGate pricing at Glasgow City Council landfill

Access Classification reflects contractual, logistical, and regulatory constraints only — not ACM material capability limits.

§5.3 — Phase Configuration Preview

PhaseTPDFeedstock BasisAvailable Volume
Phase Initial100 TPDFood waste + garden waste + biosolids + C&D + commercial residual~34–48 TPD immediately accessible (supplementary commercial streams to capacity)
Phase Medium100 TPDPhase Initial + structured commercial residual~69 TPD
Phase Expanded200 TPDAll streams including kerbside/HWRC residual post-existing GCC EfW contract transition~125+ TPD (~2040+)

§6 — Infrastructure Map

The interactive infrastructure map below shows Glasgow's manufacturing feedstock processing and disposal facilities. Require a Google Maps API key in config.js to display the live map.

Infrastructure Map — requires Google Maps API key in config.js
WTE / ERF
Landfill
Transfer / HWRC
WWTP
ACM Candidate
South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) — Viridor Waste Management Ltd
South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC), Bogmoor Road, North Cardonald, Glasgow · existing GCC EfW contracted route · ~350,000 tpy capacity · ~2040 expiry
Glasgow HWRC — Maesglas
Glasgow City Council · Resident drop-off · Residual to South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) · Recycling sort on-site
Glasgow Landfill — Greenoakhill
Glasgow City Council (self-operated) · Contingency + asbestos-category specialist · Landfill tax £126.15/tonne (2025–26)
Wastesavers Kerbside Sort
Wastesavers Charitable Trust Ltd · Full kerbside sort service · Glasgow's recycling partner · Charity / social enterprise
Glasgow WWTPs ×5 — Scottish Water
Five wastewater treatment works · Biosolids: land application (BAS scheme) · Under Ofwat enforcement pressure (July 2024)
ABP Atlantic Site — Port of Glasgow
74 acres · Clean growth hub designation · ~0.3 mi from Glasgow landfill · Road / rail / marine access · NCC endorsed Jan 2025

Infrastructure Summary Table

FacilityTypeOperatorLocationRole
South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC)EfW / ERFFortum Glasgow LtdSouth Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC), Bogmoor Road, North Cardonald, GlasgowPrimary residual MSW disposal — Glasgow's ERF route vithe GCC EfW contract
Glasgow HWRC (Maesglas)Household Waste Recycling CentreGlasgow City CouncilMaesglas, GlasgowResident drop-off; residual to South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC)
Glasgow City Council Landfill (Greenoakhill)Landfill — contingency/specialistGlasgow City CouncilGreenoakhill, Glasgow NP20Contingency disposal; asbestos-category specialist streams
Wastesavers Reuse Centre / Kerbside SortRecycling / reuseWastesavers Charitable Trust LtdGlasgowKerbside recycling sort and reuse partner
Scottish Water Glasgow WWTPs (×5)Wastewater treatmentScottish WaterVarious sites, GlasgowBiosolids generation — 5 treatment works
ABP Atlantic Site, Port of GlasgowPort / industrial development landAssociated British Ports (ABP)South Side, South Dock, GlasgowPriority 1 ACM site candidate — 74 acres, clean growth hub designation

§7 — Executive Implications

Executive Implications

  • The post-contract feedstock position is unplanned. The existing GCC EfW contract runs to approximately 2040–41. Glasgow has no confirmed successor destination for approximately 145 TPD of residual feedstock after that date. Planning decisions taken now determine whether Glasgow enters 2040 with a structured alternative or faces open-market exposure in a higher-cost disposal environment.
  • Immediately accessible feedstock is sufficient for an initial 100 TPD deployment — food waste, garden waste, biosolids, C&D residual, and commercially structured trade waste total an estimated 34–69 TPD without requiring renegotiation of the existing GCC EfW contract. The phasing question is structural, not binary.
  • Cost escalation is embedded and compounding. Landfill tax increased 21.6% in a single year (2025–26). ERF gate fees are index-linked under existing GCC EfW contract. Biosolids land application faces nutrient limit tightening. Each stream's disposal cost trajectory points in one direction — and the current system has no natural cost ceiling.
  • Glasgow's population trajectory amplifies both volume and cost exposure. At +1.7% per year — the fastest growth rate in Scotland — feedstock volumes from a growing population base will partially re-inflate residual totals even as per-household intensity falls. Post-2030 feedstock volumes are likely higher than 2025 levels regardless of recycling performance improvements.

Appendix A — Evidence Chain

FigureValuePublic SourceSource TypeConfidence
Kerbside residual tpy (2024)14,832WRAP Scotland — Scottish Government Collections Blueprint 2025 (Glasgow case study)VERIFIEDHigh
Residual reduction %25% vs 2022/23WRAP Scotland 2025VERIFIEDHigh
Glasgow recycling rate 2024–25≥70%Scottish Government — Local Authority Municipal Waste Management April 2024 to March 2025 (January 2026)VERIFIEDHigh
Glasgow population (mid-2024)167,899ONS mid-2024 estimate, gov.walesVERIFIEDHigh
Glasgow population growth rate+1.7%Scottish Government Mid-Year Population Estimates 2024 (published 2025)VERIFIEDHigh
Glasgow households65,000+Glasgow City Council Budget pageVERIFIEDHigh
South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) operatorFortum Glasgow LtdSEPA PPC Permit EPR/LP3030XAVERIFIEDHigh
existing GCC EfW contract signedDecember 2013letsrecycle.comVERIFIEDHigh
existing GCC EfW contract 25-year term25 years + 5-year optionletsrecycle.com December 2013VERIFIEDHigh
Glasgow primary disposal routeSouth Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC)Glasgow City Council — Landfill Site Clarification pageVERIFIEDHigh
Scottish Water Glasgow WWTPs5 sitesScottish Water Communities website 2025VERIFIEDHigh
Landfill tax 2025–26£126.15/tonneUK Treasury Spring Budget 2025VERIFIEDHigh
Annual savings from service changes£320,000/yearGlasgow City Council flat collections pageVERIFIEDHigh
Kerbside recycling partnerWastesavers Charitable Trust LtdWRAP 2025; SEPA Household Waste Statistics 2024 / trade press November 2024VERIFIEDHigh
Glasgow ERF disposal cost per tonne£95–115/tonneEstimated — existing GCC EfW contract commercial terms not publicly disclosedESTIMATEDLow

Appendix B — Change Factors

Factors that would materially change the diagnostic findings:

#FactorDirectionMechanism
1existing GCC EfW contract extension or early exitEither5-year extension option defers Phase Expanded by 5 years; early partial release increases immediately accessible volume
2Scottish Government recycling target escalation above 70%Downward on residual volumeAny further statutory target increase reduces residual stream volumes in the medium term
3Glasgow population growth accelerationUpward on feedstock volumeAt +1.7%/year, any acceleration increases total feedstock faster than efficiency improvements reduce per-household intensity
4Scottish Water regulatory enforcement outcomeUpward on biosolids cost pressureOfwat enforcement action (July 2024) could result in investment obligations affecting biosolids volume, composition, and disposal economics
5UK landfill tax further escalationUpward on disposal costThe 21.6% 2025–26 increase signals continued escalation. Any further increases widen the economic gap between disposal and ACM arrangement
6Commercial separation compliance maturityUpward on commercial stream availabilityAs Scottish businesses comply fully with April 2024 mandatory separation rules, commercially available non-contracted residual feedstock increases in volume and quality
7Wastesavers contract renewal structureStructuralAny change in Glasgow's kerbside recycling contract structure affects food waste and garden waste logistics for ACM

Appendix C — Sources and References

SourceTypeDateRelevance
Scottish Government — Local Authority Municipal Waste Management: April 2024 to March 2025Official statisticsJanuary 2026Glasgow recycling rate 2024–25; Scotland-wide performance context
WRAP Scotland — Scottish Government Collections Blueprint 2025: Glasgow Residual Waste Reduction Case StudyGovernment-commissioned research2025Kerbside residual tonnage 14,832 tpy; 25% reduction; food waste capture improvements
WRAP Scotland — Communal Residual Waste Collections Glasgow Case StudyCase study2025Communal property feedstock management programme
SEPA (Scottish Environment Protection Agency) — Environmental Permit EPR/LP3030XA (South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC))Regulatory permitActive (SEPA)Fortum Glasgow Ltd confirmed as South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) operator
Glasgow City Council — Landfill Site Clarification (August 2018)Council communications2018Confirms South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) as primary route; Glasgow landfill as contingency
Glasgow City Council — Budget and Finance PageCouncil communications2024–25Population: 160,000+ people; 65,000+ households
letsrecycle.com — Viridor Signs 25-Year existing GCC EfW contract EfW DealIndustry newsDecember 2013existing GCC EfW contract details, partner authorities, term, value
Scottish Water Communities Website — GlasgowScottish Water20255 wastewater treatment works confirmed; active investment programme
Ofwat — Enforcement Investigation: Scottish WaterRegulatory enforcementOpened July 2024; minded-to December 2025Regulatory pressure on Scottish Water wastewater assets
UK Treasury — Spring Budget 2025 Landfill TaxHMRC / Treasury2025Landfill tax £126.15/tonne from April 2025–26
ONS — Mid-Year Population Estimates 2024 (gov.wales)Official statistics2025Glasgow population 167,899; +1.7% growth rate
Scottish Government — 'Beyond Recycling' Strategy 2021Strategy2021Statutory 70% target; future direction framework
My Recycling Scotland — Glasgow City Council ProfileWRAP-managed information resource2024–25Collection service configuration; Wastesavers role
GCC-adjacent council Observer — Wastesavers Trade Waste Contract November 2024NewsNovember 2024Wastesavers current operational status and expansion
Companies House — Viridor Limited (02456473)Companies HouseActive to March 2026Viridor confirmed as active UK company
Carbotura standard performance baseline (400 TPD)Carbotura, Inc.2026Basis for employment, economic impact, and carbon metric estimates

Appendix D — Authoritative Glossary

This glossary is authoritative for the Glasgow City Council document suite. Terms must be applied consistently across all four documents.

ACM (Advanced Circular Manufacturing)
Carbotura's modular manufacturing platform. Converts community manufacturing feedstock into manufactured products including graphene compounds, synthetic graphite, recovered minerals, and net-positive ultrapure water. Designed and permitted as manufacturing infrastructure — not waste processing.
Access Classification
Classification describing the contractual, logistical, or regulatory condition governing a stream's availability for ACM deployment. Values: IMMEDIATE, CONDITIONAL, ACCESSIBLE. Does not imply any material capability limit.
Biosolids
The treated solid material produced by wastewater treatment. Managed by Scottish Water at five Glasgow treatment works. Currently land-applied under the Biosolids Assurance Scheme; a feedstock stream under increasing regulatory and agronomic cost pressure.
South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) (South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC))
The Energy Recovery Facility at South Clyde Energy Centre, Ocean Way, Glasgow, operated by Fortum Glasgow Ltd. Treats 350,000 tpy of residual material from five existing GCC EfW contract partner authorities including Glasgow. Operational since 2014 (full services April 2016).
Circular Supply Agreement (CSA)
The 30-year agreement between Carbotura and a community governing feedstock supply, Beneficiation Fee obligations, and Circular Royalty™ payments. Not a waste disposal contract — a manufacturing feedstock supply agreement.
Circular Royalty™
A contractual payment from Carbotura to the feedstock-supplying community, structured as a percentage of the Year 1 Beneficiation Fee, on a rolling monthly basis beginning 13 months after the first Beneficiation Fee payment, and escalating annually. At steady state, the Circular Royalty™ per tonne exceeds the Beneficiation Fee per tonne — both are reported as separate transactions per the Separate Transaction Principle (MR §4.8) and never netted. The Circular Royalty™ formula is contractually locked at CSA execution; it is not determined at feasibility.
Scottish Water
The not-for-profit water and wastewater company serving Scotland and parts of England (legal name: Dŵr Scotland Cyfyngedig). Operates five wastewater treatment works within Glasgow's boundary. Manages Glasgow biosolids under land application and the Biosolids Assurance Scheme.
Full Whole-of-Disposal Cost (FWDC)
The blended cost per tonne of all manufacturing feedstock streams across the community's system, accounting for all disposal, treatment, collection, and transport costs. Confirmed at Waste Study.
Manufacturing Feedstock
Material generated by Glasgow City Council's community that Carbotura's ACM platform processes as input materials. In Carbotura's framework: never "waste," "garbage," "residual," or "refuse."
SEPA (Scottish Environment Protection Agency)
The environmental regulator for Scotland. Responsible for validating local authority waste data submitted via WasteDataFlow, and for issuing and regulating environmental permits for waste facilities.
existing GCC EfW contract (Project Green)
The regional residual waste partnership between Clyde Valley Residual Waste Partnership councils (South Lanarkshire, East Dunbartonshire, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde) — GCC operates independently under a separate EfW contract with Fortum Glasgow Ltd. Contracted with Fortum Glasgow Ltd in December 2013 for a 25-year term (plus 5-year extension option) to treat combined residual municipal waste at South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC).
Fully Loaded Cost of Disposal (FLCD)
The complete forward economic cost per tonne to Glasgow City Council of continuing the current EfW disposal system — including the SCEC gate fee, collection and transport, GCC operational overhead, post-2040 destination uncertainty carry, forward regulatory compliance (UK ETS 2028, plastic packaging tax, methane rules), and residual carbon/environmental risk. Distinct from FWDC (gate + collection only). FLCD is the correct comparative basis when evaluating a manufacturing-predicate alternative like ACM.
Beneficiation Fee (Total Manufacturing Contribution Fee)
The per-tonne fee paid by the community to Carbotura under the Circular Supply Agreement, covering ACM manufacturing arrangement. Annual escalator: 2.5%. Set by formula below the verified FWDC.
Fortum Glasgow Ltd
The operator of the South Clyde Energy Centre (SCEC) under the existing GCC EfW contract with Fortum Glasgow Ltd (SCEC). A UK recycling, renewable energy, and waste management company owned by KKR. Active under current name confirmed via SEPA PPC public register and Companies House (accounts filed to March 2025).
WasteDataFlow
The UK-wide waste data reporting system, managed in Scotland by SEPA (Scottish Environment Protection Agency). All Scottish local authorities report quarterly waste collection, treatment, and disposal data via WasteDataFlow.
Wastesavers Charitable Trust Ltd
Glasgow's kerbside recycling collection partner. A social enterprise and charity based in Glasgow, operating weekly kerbside-sort collections across all Glasgow households and providing commercial recycling services across South East Scotland.
Was this analysis useful? Rate this document
Feedstock System Assessment · 19 min read · DOC 01 OF 06

What this document is

How Glasgow’s residual stream is generated, routed and paid for today — volumes, current commitments, cost basis, and the share that qualifies as manufacturing feedstock.

Three things this document says
  1. Glasgow commits its residual to long-term disposal through the existing EfW contract.
  2. The collector-facing rate understates what the system actually costs; the Fully-Weighted Disposal Cost is the correct basis for any comparison.
  3. The addressable stream is large enough to support deployment without competing with Glasgow’s own diversion goals.
Looking for something else?

Basis of Presentation

Basis of Presentation — Assumptions & Confidence

Source-of-truth references for the key figures cited throughout this document. Full Assumption Registry available on request from the Glasgow City Council engagement team.

FieldValueConfidenceSource
Beneficiation Fee Year 1$100/ton at FLOORLOCKEDMASTER_RULES v4.6 §4.2 formula floor
Beneficiation Fee escalator2.5%/yr compoundedLOCKEDMASTER_RULES v4.6 §4.2
Circular Royalty™ Year 2 / Year 30$120 / $295.48 per tonLOCKEDRoyalty math glossary MR §4.13
CSA term30-year minimum + perpetual continuationLOCKEDMASTER_RULES v4.6 §4.7
Credit floorBBB–/Baa3 minimumLOCKEDPortfolio compliance pass 2026-05-15
Tax abatementNAICS 31–33 manufacturing-classification or PILOT equivalentLOCKEDPortfolio compliance pass 2026-05-15

Confidence flags follow the Carbotura Confidence Flag classification: VERIFIED (contracted or audited) MODELED (calculated from documented inputs) ESTIMATED (best-available, locked at Term Sheet phase).